Quick Answer: Can You Delete Photos From Your Phone And Keep Them In Google Photos?

Does deleting photos from Google Photos delete from phone?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app.

This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

Go to your Google Photos app..

Can anyone see my Google Photos?

all the photos and videos you store in Google Photos are private and visible only to you unless you intentionally share any. You can check which albums or photos you may have shared by reviewing the Shared screen of the Google Photos app or visiting the corresponding page photos.google.com/shared of the website.

Are deleted photos still in the cloud?

By contrast, for images backed to Google Photos after being captured on your phone, if you simply Delete from within your Google Photos App, by tapping Trash , e.g., the images will be deleted from the cloud as well and will no longer be available in Google Photos (unless restored from the Trash within 60 days of …

What happens if I delete photos from Google Drive?

If you delete photos or videos from Google Drive or Google Photos, they won’t be automatically removed from the other service. Google says, “this change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.” In other words, the automatic link between the two services is being removed.

What happens when you delete photos from Google Photos?

If you delete images from Google Photos (photos.google.com), they will be deleted from all devices, such as your phone, that are set to sync with Google Photos. … You would have to go ahead and delete the photos from Google photos, but then go into your device and recover all the photos from your device trash container.

Can I delete photos from one device only?

If you are using iCloud Photo Library, then it is normal for deleting a photo on one device to also delete it from iCloud and from any other device that is using the service. This behaviour cannot be changed. You can disable iCloud photo syncing (chews up a ton of memory anyway) and use something else.

Do Google Photos stay forever?

Albums are not preserved, but at least the photos are safe for incidents in account A. The photos do not use storage in account B, even when “Original” size is used, unless they are deleted from account A.

What is the catch with Google Photos?

The Google Photos app is indeed free, any potential charges are associated with the amount of storage space you may require for your photos collection. … You’ll also note that there are some storage plans on the page.

Does clearing data delete photos?

From Google search: By clearing cache, you remove the temporary files in the cache, but it WON’T delete your other app data like logins, settings, saved games, downloaded photos, conversations. So if you clear the cache of the Gallery or Camera app on your Android phone, you won’t lose any of your photos.

How do I permanently delete photos from my Android?

To permanently delete an item from your device:On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .Sign in to your Google Account.Select the items you want to delete from your Android phone or tablet.In the top right, tap More Delete from device.

Do photos stay on Google photos if deleted from phone?

It is important to note that if the device copy has been deleted, and the cloud copy is still in the cloud, Google Photos will show you the cloud copy of any photos that are in Google Photos but not on the device.

Can I delete my pictures once they are on Google Photos?

The safest way to remove pictures from your phone is to use the “Free Up Space” feature in the Google Photos app. This option will only remove the pictures and videos from your phone that have already been successfully backed up to your account in the cloud.

Why can’t I delete photos off my iPhone?

There are several reasons why you can’t delete photos from iPhone. There’s 90% chance that it’s because you have previously synced your photos with iTunes of any other third-party app. There’s a certain limitation, introduced by Apple that doesn’t allow you to delete synced albums directly on your phone.

Where are Google photos stored on my phone?

If you enable sync on your device your phone’s contents might be stored on storage provided by the manufacturer of your phone, a 3rd (4th?) party or most often on Android’s author’s servers at Google. Go to https://photos.google.com/ to see any photos that Google has stored for you from every device.

How do I get unlimited Google Photos?

Get unlimited storage on Google PhotosOpen Google Photos on your device.Tap on the hamburger menu given on the top left corner or swipe right from the edge to open the sidebar.Navigate to the Backup & Sync section under Settings.Click on Backup mode and select the High-quality option.

How do I delete photos off my iPhone only?

Delete photos permanentlyOpen the Photos app and go to the Albums tab.Open the Recently Deleted album and tap Select.Tap each photo or video that you want to permanently delete.Tap Delete and confirm that you want to delete the photos.

What is the best way to backup photos?

One of the most effective ways to back up photos on smartphones is by using one of several well-known cloud services, such as Apple iCloud, Google Photos, Amazon’s Prime Photos, and Dropbox. One reason you should use them is that they all share an important feature: automatic backups.

How do I delete photos from my phone but not Google Photos?

To Free up space on your Android device: Tap Menu Free up space. You’ll see how many items will be removed. To delete all the items from your phone, tap Free up. To see your photos and videos, go to photos.google.com or open the Google Photos app .

Can you delete photos from your iPhone and keep them in Google Photos?

on a photo, there is an option to “Delete device copy”. … Then create albums in Google Photos and move the photos from my iphone to store in the cloud in Google Photo Albums. And then go back to iphone and delete the photos from the device to free up space so that I can upload more photos.

Where do my photos go when I free up space?

What happens when you remove photos and videos from your phoneSee your photos and videos, including the ones you just removed, in the Google Photos app and photos.google.com.Edit, share, delete, and manage anything in your Google Photos library.

Do my pictures automatically save to Google Photos?

With ‘backup & sync’ enabled, your camera roll will automatically, continuously and securely be uploaded to Google’s servers. Here you can also change the size of uploads and mobile data settings. Because it’s a Google service, Android device users have more options than their iOS counterparts.

Can you trust Google Photos?

NO place is entirely safe, and Google Photos is no exception. Many lost their photos by own mistakes, accounts may get hacked. A good backup is the best safety. … Then you can make a backup from the laptop to other media like external hard disk, thumb drive, or to another cloud service.