Question: How Do I Clear My IPad Before Selling It?

What happens if I take my iPad back to factory settings?

Important: Restoring your iPad to its factory settings erases all your data and settings.

However, before iPad is erased, you have the option to back up your iPad.

If you make a backup, you can use the backup to restore your data and settings on your iPad or on a new device.

See Restore iPad from a computer backup..

How do I change iPad account to child?

How to set up Screen Time using your device:Tap Settings.Tap your Apple ID.Tap Set Up Family Sharing (this is the option you’ll see if you don’t have a family group set up already).Tap Add Family Member and then tap Create a Child Account. … On the Family Sharing page, tap Screen Time and then tap Add Child.More items…

How do I clear an iPad for a new user?

Follow these steps:Open the Settings app.Navigate to the General screen.Scroll to the bottom of the menu and select Reset. … Choose Erase All Content and Settings to perform a complete wipe and reset of the device. … When asked to confirm your selection, tap Erase iPhone.More items…•

Does erase all content and settings remove Apple ID?

The option Erase all content and settings is making the phone brand new with no configurations. This will remove your Apple ID, apps, etc. Before doing so, ensure you have everything backed up.

What does a hard reset do on an iPad?

A hard reset, also known as a factory reset, removes the data from your iPad and reverts the operating system to its default state. The procedure may be necessary if you cannot solve the problem you are having with your iPad, and it carries little risk as long as you have properly backed up your data.

How do I remove previous owners from my iPad?

How to get rid of someone else’s Apple ID on your iPhoneOpen Settings. Tap your name (or the previous owner’s name) at the top of the screen.Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap Sign Out. You then have to enter the previous owner’s Apple ID password.

Does erase all content and settings delete everything?

Performing a Factory Reset WILL PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL of your data & customized settings, and will also remove any installed Applications. Performing a Factory Reset WILL NOT remove the data & files that are stored on the microSD card in your device.

What is the difference between reset all settings and erase all content and settings?

While the “Reset All Settings” option won’t delete your content, the one thing it does remove is Apple Pay cards. … All settings—including network settings, the keyboard dictionary, the Home screen layout, location settings, privacy settings, and Apple Pay cards—are removed or reset to their defaults.

How do you factory reset a locked iPad without iTunes?

Factory reset an iPad without iTunes through Hard ResetHold the tablet’s sleep/wake button, as well as the home button at the same time.Keep them pressed for 10 seconds until the Apple logo will show up on the screen. … Release both buttons and wait for your iPad to restart.

How do I clear my iPad to sell it?

If you no longer have your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch If you’re using iCloud and Find My [device] on the device, sign in to iCloud.com/find or the Find My app on another device, select the device, and click Erase. After the device has been erased, click Remove from Account.

Does resetting your iPad delete everything?

A factory reset will completely wipe everything on your iPad. That means all of your music, photos, messages, and everything else will be deleted permanently. If you have things you don’t want to lose, then it’s vital that you back them up before performing the factory reset.

How do you force a factory reset on an iPad?

Completely reset iPad On your iPad, open Settings > General. Scroll down until you see the Reset option. Select Erase All Content and Settings. Enter your passcode to restore iPad to factory settings.

How do I factory reset my iPad without a computer?

If you are now able to open your iPad, you can erase all of your data and return it to its factory default settings without connecting it to a computer. Ensure that your iPad is charged, or connect it to a power source. Open Settings; select General and then select Reset. Select Erase All Content and Settings.

How do I remove previous owner from Apple ID?

How to remove a previous owner’s Apple ID from a used iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchSign in to iCloud.com.Go to Find My iPhone.Select “All Devices” to open a list of devices linked to their account, and select the device to be removed.Click “Remove from Account”